Book Haven – Book Heaven

I’ve been a horrible blogger for the past week, and I apologise. I promise to put out a post at least once every three days. Pinky swear.

I’m the kind of person that makes numerous bucket lists, and things-to-do lists, but very rarely fulfills any of them. I think I just like making lists. This time around though, I was determined to finish every single thing on my Twenty Before Twenty list – the twenty things I wanted to achieve before I turned twenty. Starting a blog was one – check. Convincing my parents that I could handle a puppy – check. And so on, until #20 – Work in a book store or library. Uh oh.

And so I made a list of all the book stores in the city that I could work at, but when I looked at the list, I realised that there was only one place that I wanted to work at. I called the store owner a week ago, and thank my lucky stars, I got the job!

You know that feeling you get when you walk into a book store? Not one that’s got air-conditioning and lounge lights and stocks only bestsellers, but a book store with character. Where you’ve got books that are decades old sitting next to brand new ones. Where you have to spend hours looking for books to pick up, because the place refuses to let you go any earlier. Where every book is held lovingly before it is bought, because only people who read like their life depends on it know about this place. Where nobody looks at you like you’re crazy when you do your squeaky-happy-I-finally-found-a-place-that-has-this-book dance, because they’re all doing it themselves. Yeah, I work there. I’m enveloped by that feeling every day.

And what’s more, I get to help people find books they’ve been looking for with the desperation of escaping a burning building! You know, when you ask someone if they have this book, and you half don’t want to ask them because you’re scared they’ll say no, like all the other book stores? And how your eyes light up when they say, “Wait a minute. I think I’ve seen it here, somewhere.” They go looking for it, and you just about give up when they show up with it, grinning, because they understand that you want to give them the biggest hug ever? It’s amazing to be on the other side of that. The looks of absolute joy I witness when I find a copy of a book for someone is the best part of the whole job. Even better than being surrounded by books all day.

What was the last thing you checked off your list? Is there something you’ve been meaning to do, but haven’t got around to it?

Tags: , , ,

17 responses to “Book Haven – Book Heaven”

  1. maroon5gurl88 says :

    I’m beyond jealous! It’s always been my dream to work in a bookstore but unfortunately Barnes and Noble won’t hire me for some reason and the small bookstore in my area is family owned…thus only family gets the jobs. I contemplated volunteering at my local library this summer but the majority of their work consists of shelving and nothing else.

    • Tanya M says :

      Haha, yeah, I’ve been wanting to do this ever since I first visited a library. πŸ™‚
      Why won’t Barnes and Noble hire you? I think that’s ridiculous. And isn’t there another store you could try? Or library? (Shelving books IS pretty dull after a while, knowing where you kept a book so that you can locate it in a matter of seconds when asked is the only thing that makes it worth it).
      I hope you find one. Besides being a whole lot of fun, it’s a major ego boost. πŸ˜‰

      • maroon5gurl88 says :

        I have no idea, I’m assuming my hours weren’t in line with what they wanted…or they secretly knew I’d spend all my time reading books and not selling them. I’m gonna try again though so help me…they will take me whether they like it or not lol.

        • Tanya M says :

          That’s the spirit! Give them no choice in the matter! Threaten them with your shoe or something. πŸ˜›
          No, really. That’s ridiculous, though. As long as you love books, and read a lot, and are good with people, you should be able to work something out. I don’t think you’ll have a problem. πŸ™‚

  2. The Other Watson says :

    That is so awesome that you’re working in a bookstore with that kind of character! Also well done on completing your list! πŸ™‚

    • Tanya M says :

      Thank you! Thank you! *takes a bow* πŸ˜›

      I’m glad I completed that. Next target – my Thirty Before Thirty list. πŸ˜›

      • The Other Watson says :

        Hahaha, at least you have a good while for that list! I could think up of a similar list…I only have a little over four years left…oh geeze I shouldn’t have just said that actually…:P

        • Tanya M says :

          Hahaha! Ah, well. You could still do a lot in four years. And unless you see them, on paper, everyday, you aren’t going to ever get around to doing them I think. Every summer that I wanted to do something, I said “Naah. I’d much rather just sit at home and read.” Which is very rewarding, if you think about it. But you never get anything else done. πŸ˜›
          Make that list. And then post it! I’d love to see what you come up with. πŸ™‚

          • The Other Watson says :

            Hmm, you do have a point. Having the list written in front of you makes you much more likely to commit. And I could achieve an awful lot in four years if I set my mind to it. Maybe I will come up with it and post it up for all to see. I will need some time to come up with some awesome and worthy things (and also some spectacularly stupid things, for good measure). πŸ˜€

  3. mywithershins says :

    How fortunate you are to find your dream job! It sounds perfect. (I think I am a tad jealous!) Oh, and congratulations on achieving your final goal on your Twenty Before Twenty list! πŸ™‚

  4. astarteia says :

    I read this some time ago and was trying to think of a nicer way to say “IΒ΄m so jealous!”, but since everyone just went ahead and said it – IΒ΄m so jealous! (In a nice, non-jealous-jealous sort of way) Working at a book store like that sounds amazing! Actually, it really does sound like a book haven. Would settle for knowing one – the only one that came close to it closed last year 😦
    Do notice that everytime you mention your awesome job I go “Coool…” in my head πŸ˜€

    • Tanya M says :

      Oh, no. That’s AWFUL. Why did it shut down? Is there something you can do about it? 😦
      I’ve decided that I’m going to start a book store like that when I get older. πŸ™‚

      Oh, wait. If you live in a nice (book respecting) neighbourhood, and you know for a fact that people around you like reading, might I suggest this? You could start it!
      http://www.littlefreelibrary.org/

      • astarteia says :

        They shut down because the family that owned it moved waay up North. I guess noone is much in the business of used books anymore. ItΒ΄s just shut.
        I am not sure if IΒ΄m in a book respecting neighbourhood. IΒ΄d probably get second copies as a try-out first. But that sounds good! IΒ΄ll let you know of further development. (The little libraries look so cute!)
        I hope I get to visit your book store, IΒ΄m sure IΒ΄d leave it a happy bookphile πŸ˜‰
        ItΒ΄s kind of funny, IΒ΄ve talked about having a library at home with some friends and they all kind of stare into the distance and start describing their ideal home library, even book muggles. It seems cozy book-filled spaces soothe everyone.

        • Tanya M says :

          I think you should start a library. Whether it’s a Little Free Library or not. Mall stores are just a little too..cold. You need a warm, happy little place. OH! Rent a room (ask people to pitch in) and to be a member, you have to donate books. That’s it. Donate all your old books, pick up ones you haven’t read yet, finish them off! You could start a whole READ program and the donations could go to getting more books! Throw in a few bean bags so people can just plonk themselves down and read there if they wanted to. And send me pictures! πŸ˜€

          I love how ‘book muggle’ is an accepted term now.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. TWENTY ONE BEFORE TWENTY ONE | HODGEPODGEJELLYBRAIN - May 18, 2012

Let me know what you think!

