Day 3 – And My Shortest Post Ever

I mean it. Today’s post? My favourite genre of music.

Answer? Whatever Pink Floyd falls under.

 

 

 

 

5 responses to “Day 3 – And My Shortest Post Ever”

  1. The Other Watson says :

    Psychedelic rock or progressive rock – they seem to be the two main genres I hear people attempt to put Pink Floyd under. Though I think “really awesome music” should just be a genre sometimes…I listen to about 4 Pink Floyd albums in full last night, then listen to David Gilmour’s album from a few years back, too, On An Island (if you never listened to that, you have to, it’s amazing! Up there with some of the best work he did in PF).

    • Tanya M says :

      I’ve heard them being classified under “space rock” and “art rock” and all sorts of nonsense. I think “really awesome music” DOES count as a genre, especially for these guys.(There are forums that discuss this stuff! – http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/archive/index.php?t-923701.html) I love them, they defy classification, and if I had to choose just one band to listen to for the rest of my life, it’d be them. 🙂
      Also, what I love is that even with this whole “shuffle” revolution that the iPod has brought out, they’re the one band that you cannot listen to like that. If you aren’t listening to the album in full, you’re missing out.

      I’ve seen On An Island on shelves, but I’ve been a little apprehensive about picking it up. Now I’m convinced. 🙂

      • The Other Watson says :

        Yeah I have heard those sort of labels too. It’s funny, I asked my dad what they thought back in the 70s and he was like “ummm, rock? Duh?” hahaha, which I think is the best answer, really. I love the fact though they not only defied classification, but expectation and conventions of popularity – they survived changing their front man twice, from Syd Barrett, to Roger Waters and eventually to David Gilmour (who is my fave songwriter out of the three anyway), and they had number one albums with all three frontmen. Not only that, they also had number one albums in 4 separate decades. I mean..not many bands can claim that.
        I agree with you too, you have to listen to the albums in full, from start to finish, especially Dark Side Of The Moon and With You Were Here, but even their lesser known albums like Meddle, for example, benefit from that.
        And yes, definitely pick up On An Island. It is just a stunning album, and one that grows on you too – I’ve had it since it’s release 6 years ago, and I think I love it more now than I did then (and I was pretty blown away the first time). When you listen to it that first time, listen to it up loud, lying down somewhere with your eyes closed. Trust me, you won’t regret it 🙂

        • Tanya M says :

          That’s generally how I listen to Pink Floyd anyway. 😛 I did that with Ummagumma, late one night, and totally freaked out when it got to Careful With That Axe, Eugene. It was BRILLIANT. 😀
          I also love how all their music just grows on you. Even if you love it the first time. Every time I listen to their albums, and it’s been a few months since I last did, I’m amazed by how much more I love them.
          I’ll pick it up the next time I walk into a music store. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

