High Fidelity. Highly Recommended.

I’ve mentioned how much I love Nick Hornby before, and although About A Boy was great, High Fidelity was the one I went ga-ga over. I had just finished Pamuk’s The Museum Of Innocence, and I was looking for something different to read. Something I could have fun with. I went to my English teacher, and he asked me if I’d read anything by Nick Hornby. On hearing a no, he promptly thrust High Fidelity at me.

I loved it. And that’s where the problem started.

Normally, when I read a book, and love it, I’m not too keen on watching the movie. I realise that that’s a little stupid, and there are so manyย  book-based movies that, while maybe aren’t as good as the books, do quite a good job at standing their own ground as movies. I shouldn’t even expect them to be the same because, well, they can’t be.

Anyway, I steered clear of the movie for quite a while, despite hearing that it was really, really good. It took Kristen from Journeys In Classical Film calling it one of her favourites to get me to watch it. If you check out her blog (and I recommend that you do), you’ll know why I had to go see it – she really knows her films. (Plus, she’s holding a film tournament soon, which is something I’m very excited about!)

So, if you’re like me, and you’ve had misgivings about watching this, take it from me. This one changed my mind about book-based movies. Okay, maybe not entirely, but it’s a long process, lots of prejudices to overcome and all that. Watch it. It’s worth it. And if you haven’t read the book, well, what are you waiting for?!

3 responses to “High Fidelity. Highly Recommended.”

  1. maroon5gurl88 says :

    I’ve read both the book and seen the film and they’re two totally separate entities. It’s an example of how a change of location (British book, US movie) can change the tone. High Fidelity cemented my undying love for John Cusack and it’s highly quotable…”What came first the music or the misery?”

  2. jessicabookworm says :

    I love this film ๐Ÿ™‚

Let me know what you think!

