The Next Seven

I enjoyed these so much more than the previous lot.

Movie #9: The Beaver

That Mel Gibson guy can act. Phew. I was glued to the computer screen, and shushed everybody that tried to talk to me during the movie. Honestly. Why do people DO that? Can’t they see the wide eyes, the half-open jaw, the look of almost-worship I’m giving the screen that is a sure indication that I’m loving the movie I’m watching?

Movie #10: The Maltese Falcon

We watched this in our English Class, and I was pleasantly surprised at how much I actually liked it. I finally understand what all the fuss about Humphrey Bogart is about. He’s charming, that one. Look at that. Oof.

I found Mary Astor very, very, very annoying, though. Other than that, a good movie.

Movie #11: 50/50

Fitting, I thought, that I should watch this as part of the challenge.
Okay, first? I can’t stand Seth Rogen. Really. Can’t stand him. The only reason I watched this is- yes, you guessed right – Joseph Gordon-Levitt.
Now, whatever I’m saying next is assuming that Seth Rogen wasn’t in the movie. Poof. We’ve gotten rid of him. He was never there.
I enjoyed this one. I never thought I’d find a movie about cancer funny. It wasn’t the roaring-with-laughter funny that I’ve described to you before when talking to you about Roddy Doyle, but it’s funny. In hindsight, not a greaaaat movie, but I remember liking it just after watching it. So, verdict? A quick, feel-good movie, that’ll make you laugh a little, shed two/three tears, slap your forehead a couple of times and leave a grin plastered on your face when the ending credits arrive. But don’t save this for a day when you’re looking for something…well, more.
Last time. Ugh. Seth Rogen. Try to ignore him.

Movie #12: Invictus

Any movie with these two has to be good. I can’t believe I hadn’t watched it before.
 I had an exam that morning. Got home, took a nap. Woke up, dad had just started watching Invictus. He warned me, he did. He told me that if I sat down to watch, I wouldn’t be able to leave and study for the next day’s exam. Ten minutes, I said. Let me drink my tea, I said. I’ll just eat something and go, I said.
He was right, of course.
This one is on my must-watch list. Do watch it,  if you haven’t already. Even if you have, go watch it again.

Movie #13: Donnie Darko

Overrated.

Movie #14: Phineas And Ferb – Across The Second Dimension

I get laughed at a lot for liking this show, but c’mon! The Platypus is a secret agent! If that isn’t super-insanely-cool, I don’t know what is.
Plus, Ferb. I want to hug him.
I’m not going to assassinate this as a movie, simply because it’s too much fun. I love how creative they get with the inside jokes. If you watch the show, this movie is going to crack you up for the entire two hours. It’s so lame, that it ends up being cool.
If you don’t watch the show, ah.. Well. You have my permission to laugh at me.

Movie #15: Se7en

David Fincher? I’d watch anything you made.

It took me long enough to get around to watching this, and when I did, it was a lot like Revelation. The book. That I read a while ago. But I like the movie better, no surprise. Well, actually, surprise. But the book wasn’t very good, so no surprise.

Anyway.

Kevin Spacey is creepy. Brilliantly creepy. I wouldn’t be able to sleep if he was my neighbour.

I’d recommend this for – David Fincher (I LOVE his movies), Morgan Freeman (A dose of Morgan Freeman is always a good thing), Kevin Spacey (Shudder). And Brad Pitt, if you like him.

That wraps up the list for now. I’ve got my end-of-term exams coming up in a bit, which means a study break, which means more movie-time! Hopefully the next few will be as good as these ones. 🙂

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “The Next Seven”

  1. maroon5gurl88 says :

    So much to love about the Maltese Falcon, or any film in the film noir genre. I did think Seth Rogen was far better in the supporting role in 50/50 than any of his leading man roles of late. That film was proof Rogen is only good in supporting roles.

  2. Shashank says :

    If you are somehow closely interested in watching inspirational movies.. I’d suggest Cinderella man! By the way, I’ve watched most of the movies you’ve put up here! You’ve got a good taste!
    Cheers!

Let me know what you think!

