Movies : 8 :)

Okay, so. I watched these movies before I actually took up the challenge. But, it was in the last week, so it’s still legit. 🙂

1. 500 Days of Summer

It’s smart and it’s..nice. And a little predictable, but who cares. Go watch it anyway. If you’re in a mood for popcorn, and a happy, sunny movie, I’d recommend this.

But not on a day when you want something really, really, really good to watch.

I’d watch it for Zooey Deschanel and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, more than anything.

2. Gattaca

I watched this one because my mom kept going on about how great it is, and..well..Okay. It is. It wasn’t the fall-off-my-chair-in-astonishment-because-this-is-the-best-movie-ever kind of movie I was hoping it would be, but, yes. Watch, watch, watch.

3. Zombieland

Don’t ask me why I watched this. I have no clue.

Don’t ask me why I liked this. I have no clue.

Dreadful movie. Go see it. 🙂

4. Bridesmaids

I’ve heard several people describe this as a “smart romantic comedy”.

There’s nothing smart about it.

There’s nothing romantic about it.

There’s nothing comedic about it.

Watch it if you feel you must. But if you have an aversion to walking away from a movie, feeling nauseous, I’d recommend you skip this one.

Girls aren’t like that. Really. I don’t know anyone that stupid.

5. Midnight in Paris

I don’t know how I sat through that. Owen Wilson. Yeuch.

6. Trainspotting

I liked it. A few scenes made me gag (understandably, considering). But on the whole, a good movie. Imagine my surpreeease when I saw Danny Boyle’s name at the end of it all.

Huh. Who knew.

I’ve been told not to read the book, but I think I’m going to anyway. The script cracked me up.

7. Never Let Me Go

Ishiguro! I have yet to read you! I’m sorry! I know you’re on my list and it is a sin, an absolute sin to watch the movie before reading the book, unless you’ve been told by reliable sources that the book’s no good! I’m sorry! I will gobble up your (I’m assuming) beautiful work just as soon as I’m done with Kerouac’s On The Road and Roddy Doyle! Forgive me!

In my defence, it was a very good movie. I couldn’t just stop watching it. That would’ve been worse than not reading the book beforehand.

8. Insomnia


This was the only Christopher Nolan movie I hadn’t watched, and I expected it to be..you know. Amazing.

It wasn’t.

Maybe because I expected too much from it.

Doesn’t mean it’s a bad movie. In fact, it’s a really good movie. I just expected more from Nolan, seeing as I love him for how he’s redeemed Batman’s “Movie-Face”. Well, let’s face it. All the Batman movies were crap till he came along (George Clooney? Really?). I used to wince with every new Batman release , and now I can’t wait for the next one.

I saw Sherlock Holmes 2 on the 31st of December (SO close). So, I guess it doesn’t count, but I’m going to demand that you go see that movie anyway. Phenomenal stuff.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Movies : 8 :)”

  1. mywithershins says :

    It was nice to read your movie reviews. Hubby has been asking me what I want for my birthday. Now I can give him a few suggestions! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

