Mistborn. Why Did I Wait So Long To Read You?

What a book. WHAT a book. I’m scared my review won’t do it justice.

At the time that Carl was hosting a Mistborn group-read, my book was still travelling all over the world, desperate to get to me. Oh, Universe, why? Why did this book take so long to arrive? And then, when it did, of course it was perfectly timed with my mid-terms. Of course.

So, I’ve been a good little girl, and I’m done with exams for a while, and I even put up a Never Let Me Go post before I put this one up, but I can’t take it anymore. There’s something you should know.

This book is bloody brilliant.

I mean it. Go out, pick up a copy, read it. Now. Now!

To start with, this book has got to have one of the best first lines ever.

Ash fell from the sky.

What did I tell you? One line, that one line, and my brain exploded. Ash? ASH?! From the freaking sky?! This man is mad.

The rest of the book is like that, too, mind you. There where times when (oh, and this is a super quick read, by the way. Don’t count on getting any sleep till you’re done) I doubled back and just stared at sentences like they had three heads. Ash falling from the sky, I tell you.

And the magical system! Probably one of the most creative that I’ve ever seen. And incredibly real. Well, as real as magical systems can be anyway. Pfft, no, I can’t tell you, that’s the best bit unfortunately.

Okay, I take that back. The characters were the best bit. Sanderson had me hooked from page one, and pretty much every character that came after just added to the fervent page-turning. There were a few secondary characters that weren’t as well fleshed out, but I think I’m going to let that drop. Who cares, eh? Who cares.

First, there’s Kelsier, who reminded me a LOT of Durzo Blint (if you haven’t read The Night Angel trilogy, that’s another one I highly recommend. One of my favourite fantasy trilogies, that.) Okay, no limelight stealing allowed. But, well Durzo Blint is the awesomest character in the world – ever. Except for maybe Morpheus. (ARGH! FOCUS, WOMAN!)

What was I saying? Ah, yes Kelsier. A character as mad as the author, he dashes about, wreaks havoc, waves charmingly and dashes away, somewhere else, wreaks havoc there.. Do I have to explain why I love him? Listen to this:

“How do you ‘accidentally’ kill a noble man in his own mansion?”
“With a knife in the chest. Or, rather, a pair of knives in the chest…”

See? SEE?!

Yikes. I don’t think I’ve ever used these many caps in a post before. Sorry?

Then there’s Vin. And finally! Another strong female protagonist that I can add to my pathetically tiny list of Alanna, Matilda, Maya and Sonea. Very, very few authors can create a realistic, yet strong, female character. This man does it beautifully. And while Vin is the main focus of the book, I like how balanced the narrative is. Vin’s story of a scared, distrusting orphan-Skaa (non-nobility) turning into this lethal, strong, determined individual who gives as good as she gets (sometimes better) and manages to resolve some, if not all trust issues (Yay! Disney? Learn! (I still love you (Sorry! (Don’t stop making movies!!)))) was completely engaging. But if Sanderson had focused on that, and just that, I’d have put the book down mid-way and picked another one up. No, this man realises that we don’t want a plain old Bildungsroman, no no, we can get that anywhere. We want you to talk about the rebellion, too. (What, you thought there wasn’t going to be a rebellion? Psh.) But too much about rebellions, and we get bored. Now, I don’t know how he put these two together so perfectly, but he’s sneaky like that. There were a few “fantasy-cliches” here and there, but you know what? I didn’t get mad. I lapped it up, asked for more, and now the next two books are sitting across the table from me waiting to be devoured.

But, before that. I need to see what Carl, Grace and Lynn have to say about the book. I’ve religiously avoided their posts, because I didn’t want their thoughts to influence this review, but now I’m going berserk.

I’ve made a lot of references to other books in this post. Just in case you’re interested, here are links that will tell you more about them. For Durzo Blint, go here. Morpheus, here (if you do plan to read Sandman, I’d avoid this one. Summaries!) and here. Alanna is from The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce. You also HAVE to read what Cheryl has to say about her. Matilda – Matilda by Roald Dahl. Maya from the Game World Trilogy by Samit Basu (book one here, book two, I can’t find book three), and Sonea from the Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan (the link takes you to her website. Her rec-reading list is amazing, by the way).  I would, um, recommend all of them. If in doubt, convince you I shall! 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Mistborn. Why Did I Wait So Long To Read You?”

  1. Grace says :

    Kelsier is amazing. He’s one of my many bookish crushes… he’s just so charismatic!

  2. lynnsbooks says :

    Ha, ha, so you liked it then? Stop being so reserved with your feelings – I need to know what you really thought.
    Still haven’t read the Hero of Ages! Eek. I messed up a bit with the library – hopefully will have it soon!
    Lynn :D

    • Tanya says :

      Oh, Lynn. Why must you laugh at me every time I get giddy over a book? :P

      The Hero of Ages is sitting there, calling me. I’m whizzing through The Well of Ascension at the moment, which is making me feel really guilty because I still haven’t put my Hobbit post up. Uh oh. Please tell me it’s not just me and that Brandon Sanderson just upsets people’s schedules as a happy habit. :D

  3. Carl V. says :

    It is indeed brilliant! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Even more glad that you avoided our spoilers so that you could enjoy this one all on your own. I unfortunately got swamped under and did not get to the other two books as part of the group read, but I do very much enjoy Sanderson’s work and will get to the others at some point.

Let me know what you think!

