Originally posted on Writers' Bloc:

Hello, Writers’ Bloc People! We (finally) start our first ever group-read!

Here’s the schedule:

Week 1: Aug 14th to Aug 19th : Chapter 1 to 6

Week 2: Aug 20th to Aug 25th : Chapter 7 to 12

Week 3: Aug 26th to Aug 31st : Chapter 12 to 19

That makes it an average of about 100 pages or so every week.

We have decided to hand over the discussion to two readers every week – one who is reading the book for the first time, and another who already has – just to cover all bases. So far, Matt Watson has graciously accepted to steer the conversation in the second week, and Inkeri has volunteered as well. Since both of them haven’t read it, though (aren’t you glad we’re finally cattle-prodding you into it?), Inkeri might probably take over week three, along with somebody else who has already…

View original 147 more words

8 responses to “”

  1. lynnsbooks says :

    Hi
    Just wondering if this is a group read open to anybody?? I actually really want to reread this book – basically before the film is released so this seems like a good opp but wasn’t sure if you mind anyone joining in.
    If you’d sooner not then no worries – I’ll follow the comments anyway.
    Lynn :D

    • Tanya says :

      Yes! Jump right in! :D
      You have a copy of the book already, don’t you?
      You can also take over the discussion for a week, if you’d like. Let me know. :)

      • lynnsbooks says :

        I have the book, and (because I’m all geeky like that) I have the illustrated book! (I even have a fold up map – but don’t tell anybody that I just admitted to that!),
        Happy to help with the discussion as best you think fit. – Not the first week though!! Need to walk before I run, blah blah blah….
        Lynn :D

        • Tanya says :

          Oh my god. Take a picture! Show me, show me!

          Thanks, Lynn. :) I’ll probably take over week one. So that means I’ll either toss week three at you, or you can work with Matt on week two. I’ll keep you posted, alright?

  2. theairtwit says :

    Oh, gosh. I’m glad I saw this post on my WP Reader! I first picked The Hobbit when I was twelve and couldn’t get into it. My tastes have grown and changed quite a bit since then, and a movie will be coming out… I am tempted to read it now. 100 pages a week sounds manageable!

    • Tanya says :

      I know what you mean. I first tried it around that age as well, and I HATED it. I tried again a year ago, and, well, it’s one of those books every fantasy-addict should pick up at least once. :)
      We’re hosting discussions on the Writers’ Bloc blog, so just leave us a link to your blog there, okay? Glad to have you join in!

  3. mywithershins says :

    It’s been roughly 30 years since I read The Hobbit. Hope your group likes it as much as I do! :)

Let me know what you think!

